top of page

Connemara , August. 2017

Updated: Aug 30, 2022

We sent a few days in Connemara, western Ireland, this summer and looking back on the photos has reminded me why it's such a special place. With the most strikingly magnificent beaches and lush green landscapes complementing friendly locals and abundant animals, it really is a place of beauty and peace.

We stayed at the wonderful Renvyle Country House - located right on a beautiful beach and just minutes walk from others.

My favourite beach of all, and one that is calling me back to Ireland, was Glassilaun Beach, just five minutes from where we were staying.

The water was crystal clear, and set against almost volcanic looking mountains, it was surreal. We followed a dog that was splashing in the shallows and were led up across a short sand bank to a small island where there was the most magical tidal pool, complete with extraordinary creatures to inspect!

Our next adventure took us to a beach that sadly I can't remember the name of, but maybe that's a good thing because it will remain secret (even to me)! We used a gopro in the water, letting me get some shots looking back towards land. I'm afraid the weather was a bit overcast so the photos are rather dark, but let's call them "atmospheric!"

That's it for now but I'm sure we'll be back! (I'm about to write a post about an island we visited off the coast of Connemara so you can read more there)!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page