top of page

New beginnings !!

Updated: Aug 30, 2022

It's nearing the end of September, which signals the conclusion of one very long summer - the best yet! This gap between leaving school and starting University has been such a freeing experience. With exams over and an exciting adventure ahead, I've been able to focus on things I love doing and people I love seeing.

I won't recount the places I've visited as there are blog posts dedicated specially to that purpose but I will say that no time has been wasted and, looking back, I know that each new city strolled through, or ocean swam in will stay with me forever! Cheesy but true :)

Next week I'm moving to Oxford (eek) to start a modern languages degree! I cannot wait to meet everyone, see everything and most importantly (I suppose?) learn masses about the two subjects I love - French and German!

It's definitely the start of a new chapter, so below are a few random photos and some even randomer (not a word) captions!

I've been blown away by the light this summer! Heatwave or no heatwave, the bright mornings and hazy afternoons have been ones not to miss!

Having no need to revise all day, every day after such a long and intense period leading up to A levels, I've turned my attention to fiction (hurrah)!

Below is a list that I started a couple of weeks ago, so by no means notes all the wonderful novels I've read this summer. But it's a summary of the most recent (blurry photo warning)!!

I haven't escaped work entirely however. But is it really "work" when the covers are this beautiful.?! Below is a stack of books I've been advised to read in preparation for my degree course! They're all in the original language, so it was slow progress indeed but I'm pleased to say that I've made it!

Anyway, back to the well-lit photos! It's been a summer of FREE FRUIT! Literally bucket loads - blackberries, sloes, damsons, pears and apples..hundreds of apples!!

We've made sloe jelly, sloe gin (!), blackberry jelly and of course, apples crumble!

So there we have it! A very sparse and selective sequence of photos summing up, or at least attempting to, the last few months! If anything, they'll bring to mind all the wonderful experiences I've had when I glance over this post in the future :)

This is me at 18, following a summer I want to remember and at the start of a chapter that I can't want to dive into! More stories to come..!!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page