top of page

Budapest & Bled - Border Hopping

Having visited all of Austria's states (no epic feat given its titchy size and excellent transport links), I decided it would be a fun goal to cross all of the country's borders. Up until two weeks ago, I thought there were six but I can now proudly claim to have hopped over all eight - Italy, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary and Slovenia, if we're being clockwise about it.


Although I've only seen the airport and train station in Slovakia, it's the final two which have been eluding me since I last lived here two years ago. With no more teaching and a finite period left in this part of the world, I booked some last minute trains and hopped over to Budapest for a day trip and then to Slovenia two days later. Although I loved both trips, Slovenia has been shunted right up to the top of my bucketlist as a place I'd love to explore further. Lake Bled is incredible and I promise, it really IS that blue!

In Budapest, I pounded the pavements, speeding from sight to sight in the six hours between my train's arrival and departure. There was, however, time for a Strudel and many happy minutes spent listening to the famous musical fountain on Margaret Island. I didn't manage to visit the baths this time so will definitely be back one day. I have to admit though, a highlight of the day was overhearing an American man on the train beside me look confusedly at the menu and ask in his booming voice: "What's a SNICHEL?"

From Budapest to Bled...but first stop, Ljubljana. For lack of a better description, I'd say the city is like an Italian Salzburg which would make sense I suppose, given its location. The architecture is pretty Austrian but the riverside atmosphere and mediterranean colours give it an Italian edge. I spent the first afternoon exploring under alternating skies - one minute clouds threatening biblical rainstorms, the next bright blue skies calling for sunglasses.

On day two, we took an early bus to Bled and spent the journey chatting to (or rather being talked at...) by two retired brothers who had the shared goal of visiting 100 countries together. I'll forgive their lecturing for their impressive stats - Slovenia was number 94! Imagine!


The first glimpse of the lake is breathtaking. Powerade, Smurfs and bubblegum ice lollies all spring to mind. After exclaiming how blue it was more times than we could count, we dived (ok, *slid rather ungracefully*) off the boardwalk and swam out towards the island.

After a quick pitstop and completed lap on foot, we hired some paddle boards and took to the water again. Dream day!


And now, to round off this post, some snaps from Tirol - absolutely one of my favourite places in the world, despite the dodgy train connections from Slovenia, that is.


Cows (known locally as 'Gravieh', so I'm told), two lakes (one FAR icier than Bled but just as stunning) and horses clip clopping down the road. Shoutout to Hanna for being the best Tirolean tour guide!


I think this may be my last post from the land of SNICHEL and Strudel.....for now.....


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page