top of page

Praha :)

Updated: Aug 30, 2022

The first non-Viennese post in a very long while!

Just a few days before lockdown lifts here in Austria, I escaped the rain this weekend with two friends and visited one of the cities which has occupied the top line of my European bucket list ever since my parents visited many years ago! The mugs they brought home as souvenirs, adorned with the famous cartoon Czech mole, have been staunch favourites in our family ever since. When I smashed one of these a year or so ago, I knew exactly which border I'd be crossing first during my year in Vienna. Mug replaced, I can finally rest easy!


It really was a flying visit, arriving on Thursday afternoon and leaving as late as possible on Saturday. We walked miles around the old town, climbed multiple hills and tried as many edible specialities as possible but I left raring to return!


You'd be scrolling for days if I were to upload all the photos I took so I'll select just a few - truly one of the most beautiful cities I've ever seen and very reminiscent of the Old Towns of Vilnius and Tallinn from a few summers ago.


On day one, fuelled by fresh Trdelník, we started on the eastern side of the river Vltava then worked our way across Charles Bridge and up into the parks and streets on the hill beyond.

The sky was an oppressive grey most of the day, broken up by moments of bright sunshine or torrential downpour. But the bright roofs and colourful façades (plus the novelty of being able to shelter in a café) made the weather 'atmospheric' over anything else!

Something I certainly did not expect to see was a river bank dotted with scurrying rodents! Cross between a beaver, otter and very plump rat, the French term is 'ragondin' which translates to 'coypu' or 'coon' - neither of which I or anyone I've told has heard of! Sadly they were too speedy for my camera and no zoomed-in-on photo does their cuteness justice - I was rather smitten and am tempted to go all Ring of Bright Water if I ever return to live here....

Over Charles bridge and up through the (fairly steep!) winding streets to Prague Castle.

Back down in the sun we went, past the Lennon Wall (?!) and over some Vltava tributaries before diving into a café when the heavens suddenly opened. One poor policeman was clearly making up for being late to work and stood there drenched while cards splashed past him. I'd do it for that coat though!

We saw the city from afar that evening and looked on as the buildings switched off their lights one by one and plunged Prague into darkness. (If you look between the trees on the left of the photo, you can see the sliver of moon hovering above Prague Castle)!

Saturday consisted of more Trdelník, another ragondin-spotting session and a final wander before catching the Regiojet home to Vienna!

(The Astrological Clock - one of Tripadvisor's 'Top 10' and for good reason!)

Below - another highlight of the trip - the onboard refreshments on Regiojet. Slices of pie for just 40 cent and free coffee all round! Safe to say I went all out on the return journey, amassing surprised looks from both waiter and fellow passengers and incredulous glances when I returned all plates licked clean!

Prague, I'll be back!



(Special shoutouts must go to both Antoine and Corentin, without whom we'd have been sleeping under a bridge and Antonio for his Czech language skills which got us in favour with the locals!)







RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page